Skip to main content
Question

Ensuring confidentiality in the waiting room

• 14 March 2024
  • 4 replies

I am an Executive Coach and clients use Calendly to book Zoom sessions with me. I started running into the challenge with back-to-back meetings where clients in the Zoom waiting room are seeing the name of the previous client tsee attached photo].

The Topic of the Zoom meeting is being pulled from Calendly as "Name" + "Event Type"

So I wanted to see if there was a way I could somehow change this to protect client confidentiality.
There doesn’t appear to be a solution in Zoom and Calendly Tech support was not helpful.
It seems like there is no way to create unique Zoom IDs for each booking either. 

I am sure other coaches and therapists are using Calendly as the scheduling backbone and this issue creates major client confidentiality challenges

The only solutions I have found thus far are: 1) ideally, end the meeting before the next client lands in the waiting room ; 2) to go into Zoom and manually edit Meeting Topics for the coming week. 

Would love other ways to troubleshoot this… 

Hi @Jayson23313!

Hmm. That is very strange behavior. I’m rather perplexed why your waiting room is showing the name of the previous meeting, but let’s figure this out.

So first thing I’d look into is making sure your Zoom account has the settings you expect on your waiting room. I’ll admit I’m no expert on this, so I just got a bit of education wildly searching their help center too! But what I found out is that you can customize your waiting room quite extensively including having a default title, custom logo, video, images, etc. There is a ton of information in these Zoom articles here: Using Waiting Room and Enabling and Customizing Waiting Room.